Home / Kannada Rajyotsava Celebrations

Kannada is one of the major Dravidian languages of India, spoken predominantly in the Southern state of Karnataka. It is the 27th most widely spoken language in the world. The people of the state are called Kannadigas.

Karnataka was formed on 1st of November 1956 when the Government of India decided to form linguistic states. The name Mysore was changed to Karnataka on November 1st, 1973.

In November several cultural activities specific to Kannada Rajyothsava were held. Students display their skills by enacting drama, singing patriotic songs and a host of other programmes.